Flash Fiction Friday with AB Frank
Flash Fiction Friday with AB Frank
Sullied Carcass
0:00
-2:09

Sullied Carcass

Flash Fiction Friday Episode 40

Welcome to episode 40 of Flash Fiction Friday with AB Frank.

Thank you for your continued support.

If you’re enjoying these stories, please support me by sharing them.

The writing prompt for this week:

  • Object: Meat

  • Action: Choose

  • Genre: Horror

Object Word Association: Flesh, food, farming, breeding, eating, rotting, cooking, butchering, selling.

Action Word Association: Choices, options, alternatives, pick, preferences, decisions, tastes.

Enjoy!

Sullied Carcass

Workbenches were covered in blood spatter. My tools for hacking and cutting were close to hand. I sharpened a meat cleaver while I waited for that morning’s meat delivery.

The carcasses arrived and were suspended from hooks before I butchered them into portions. As I worked through them, slicing and segmenting, I came across the most peculiar of animals.

I certainly hadn’t ordered the unidentified beast, and how it came to be suspended in my butchers was a mystery. I studied it. The meat had the richest red colour, and plenty of it. I sliced myself a sample to take home, as I often do, with the intention of selling the remaining food instead of returning it. I was hooked by the savoury fragrance as it cooked, and the texture as I chewed.

That night, my sleep was broken and restless. Nightmares plagued me and I repeatedly woke sweating. The following day, my urges started. To begin with, I had a need to eat raw meat. After I had submitted to this shameful thought, it progressed to a need to eat the meat of something still living.

I have no doubt that my change came from that strange animal’s sullied carcass. I have kept someone prisoner in the basement of my butchers for the terrible moment an urge arises. I do not know if this nightmare will end before I bring an end to it with the tools I am so accustomed to using on the flesh of animals.

The End

Discussion about this podcast

Flash Fiction Friday with AB Frank
Flash Fiction Friday with AB Frank
My name is AB Frank. Every Friday I write & narrate a piece of gaslamp horror flash fiction. The stories will not have been previously published or read by anyone before. I will have author guests from time to time who I will interview and they will also write & narrate a piece of flash fiction.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
A. B. Frank
Recent Episodes
  A. B. Frank
  A. B. Frank
  A. B. Frank
  A. B. Frank